Sometimes you get lemons – Old City Prime

I have experienced many changes in a short period of time. Death, Job Loss, Adoption of a new pet. My last 3 weeks no one could have ever anticipated. It’s amazing to look at your life a year from where you were. What were you doing last March? How much has changed since then? Change comes rapidly. We can not prepare of it. We can find ways to endure it.  So why not eat?! Let’s talk a bit about a restaurant.

I went to Lima for the death I was speaking of… There is a new restaurant called Old City Prime by Happy Daz owner John Heaphy. I will be reviewing this new upscale establishment. There was a party of 3 of us in the afternoon. Business seemed very slow around 5pm on a Thursday. I usually love this because we get all the personal attention that could be difficult at busier times.

STARTERS:
Creamy Spinach & Artichoke Dip: In my personal opinion, this was the worst Spin Dip I have every tasted. It wasn’t terrible it was just a very different interpretation. The Dip was a bit spicy with red pepper flakes. I like spicy but maybe emphasize the creamy, salty taste. Anytime I consume Spin Dip I compare it to Betty’s in Columbus, OH. Could be an unfair comparison but it is truly the best. The flatbread that accompanies this dish is quite tasty but I’d rather consume it with a nice herb-infused oil.
Oyster Rockefeller: This was all them. They were beautiful, but I don’t eat oysters. My guests highly recommend this!
Maytag Bleu Cheese: Again, not for me, my guests said this was their favorite! It was a lovely display of cashews, fresh fruit, crackers, and Maytag Bleu Cheese.

DINNER:
Lobster Bisque: Failure. It tasted bitter and gross.
OC Prime Tableside Caesar: This was a wonderful surprise delivered by local Brian Keegan. He made the salad from scratch, dressing and all, table side. I greatly enjoyed this dinner and a show. It is a rare treat to talk with the person preparing your food. I did find all the staff courteous and knowledgeable. I was surprised to see this dressing made with raw (maybe coddled) egg! Very traditional. I recommend this for your meal!
Pacific King Salmon:  My partner had this and loved it. The fish is fresh daily and this salmon was wild caught. He highly recommends this for salmon lovers.
Twin Lobster Rolls: My mother decided on this dish. It was not quite what she expected. She found something lacking and isn’t a big french fry person. Maybe a good choice for you but not her cup of tea.

Critique Scores (Highest Values = 5)

Service: 3.5
Atmosphere: 4
Food Taste & Quality: 3
Presentation: 4
Recommendation: GO! There are so few choices like this in Lima, OH!

Details:

Family Owned
215 S Main St
Lima, OH 45801
419.227.7463

Closed Sunday
Online Reservations Accepted (Not Mobile Friendly)
Free Street Parking
http://www.oldcityprime.com

 

 
Old City Prime Steakhouse on Urbanspoon
 

 

 

Leave a comment